[Blog Tour Book Review] My Penny, My Voice by Vanessa Grillone

my pen

Authour:
Vanessa Grillone

Format:
Trade Paperback, 148 pages

Publication date:
February 17th, 2011

Publisher:
iUniverse.com

Source:
Won from a giveaway on the authour’s blog

Synposis:

Every girl has secrets. Every girl experiences things she is afraid to talk about. And every girl has her own outlet. For Vanessa Grillone, that outlet is writing.”My Pen, My Voice” artfully records the trials and errors one girl endures in order to become an independent and strong young woman. Through a mixture of prose and poetry, Grillone digs into the heart of the often difficult teenage years, when emotions are high, changes are fast, and life is all-consuming.Grillone’s entries encompass the turbulent range of teenage angst. From struggling to understand her need to go her own way to trying to come to terms with her frequent mood swings, her poems reveals with painful intimacy the confusion and heartbreak of growing up. Her vivid language and heartfelt words convey not only her honesty, but her fragility. With a keen eye for the human heart, “My Pen, My Voice” offers compelling compositions. Journey with Grillone on her path to self-discovery, one that ultimately offers insight into the female mind during its most fragile years..

Review:
I’ve been a fan of Vanessa Grillone’s blog ever since I first came upon it last fall so when I received a copy of her book in the mail I was curious to start reading it right away. My Pen, My Voice is a collection of poems and writings about Grillone’s personal experiences and the ups and downs of her life growing up.

Like her blog the writing in this book is of an extremely intimate and revealing nature as the reader is given little glimpses into her life and mind at various stages in her life. Though I am not a huge poetry reader, I could not help but feel deeply touched by all the emotions that she expresses through her writing. Grillone is not afraid to be open and honest about love, loss, heart break, bullying and just the feeling that you are alone because you feel that there is no one around you who understands you.

By reading this book you get a better sense of what the authour is truly like as a person though only from one side and from that side, the person that is revealed seems like someone whom many girls can truly relate to. In fact reading about some of her experiences I was struck by how incredibly similar our experiences of growing up were. For instance, I too have had times when I pretended to be fine when I was in fact torned inside, as well growing up I was also bullied and my parents would often try to get me to go out and befriend others when actually I was fine not having scores of friends. On the whole I found this short read to be a fairly enjoyable read, and I think many young girls could benefit from reading about Grillone’s experiences by learning that they are not alone. Growing up can be difficult at times but it is those ups and downs that really help to shape the person you become one day. Oh by the way if you’re curious to read more of Vanessa Grillone’s writing, you can check out her guest post toorrow on this blog, or visit her blog over at http://mypenmyvoice.com

Rating: 4/5

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

One thought on “[Blog Tour Book Review] My Penny, My Voice by Vanessa Grillone

  1. I would like to thnkx for the efforts you have put in writing this website. I’m hoping the same high-grade blog post from you in the upcoming as well. In fact your creative writing skills has encouraged me to get my own website now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a great example of it.

Leave a Reply

